Historic records set at Roland Garros by the French Open champions

No ads found for this position

Rafa Nadal (pictured left) and Iga Swiatek (pictured right) created history after their French Open triumphs. (Getty Images)

Kathmandu. Roland Garros witnessed spectacular games in both men and women singles finals this year. Both were unprecedented matches in the history of French Open.

Polish teenager Iga Swiatek became the youngest women’s French Open champion in almost 30 years after beating Sofia Kenin of the United States on Saturday. The unseeded 19-year-old Swiatek beat her fouth-seeded opponent 6-4, 6-1.

Swiatek, the first player from Poland to win a Grand Slam singles didn’t lose a single set in the tournament. She has become the lowest-ranked woman to win the French Open. She ranks 54 whereas her opponent Kenin is fourth ranked.

Similarly, Rafael Nadal won his 13th French Open title on Sunday, defeating 17-time Grand Slam champion World No.1 Novak Djokovic in a humiliating straight sets (6-0, 6-2, 7-5) in the 2020 men’s final. Nadal holds the record of winning most French Open titles.

Nadal has now matched Roger Federer with 20 Grand Slam titles. After the win, Federer offered his congratulations to Nadal on social media.

Nadal has won the men’s singles title at the French Open in 13 of the last 16 years. Djokovic and Nadal have pitted against each other at the finals four times, out of which Nadal has won three times and Djokovic, only once.

No ads found for this position

Facebook Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related News

latest Video