The Indian Premier League (IPL) Crowns Kolkata Knight Riders as New Champions

No ads found for this position

Kathmandu, May 27: Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) emerged as the champions of the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the third time after defeating Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) by 8 wickets in the final match held last night. With this victory, Kolkata secured a prize of 20 crores, while the runner-up, Sunrisers Hyderabad, received a cash prize of 12.5 crores.

Rajasthan Royals, who finished in third place, were awarded 7 crores, and Royal Challengers Bangalore, who came in fourth, received 6.5 crores.

Players from both Kolkata and Hyderabad dominated the individual awards, winning 6 out of 9 honors. Sunil Narine stood out by winning two awards. Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore, who scored the highest runs (741) in this IPL season, won the Orange Cap. Harshal Patel from Punjab, who took the most wickets (24) this season, was awarded the Purple Cap.

Sunil Narine, with his impressive performance of 488 runs and 21 wickets, was named the Player of the Tournament. Nitish Reddy of Sunrisers Hyderabad was recognized as the Emerging Player of the Season, having scored 303 runs and taken 3 wickets.

Among other accolades, Abhishek Sharma of Sunrisers Hyderabad hit the most sixes (42), while his teammate Travis Head hit the most fours (64). The best catch of the tournament was awarded to Kolkata’s Ramandeep Singh for his dismissal of Lucknow batsman Arshin Kulkarni. Sunil Narine also became the ultimate fantasy player of the season, and Jack Fraser Magerk of Delhi boasted the best strike rate, scoring 330 runs in 9 matches at a strike rate of 234.04.

Each individual award winner received a cash prize of 10 lakhs.

No ads found for this position

Facebook Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Related News

latest Video